West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Updates

Nick Clair

West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections are going scheduled in seven phases from 11th of April to 19th of May 2019. The state has a total of 42 seats of which the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) holds 34, Indian National Congress holds 4, Communist Party of India (CPI) holds 2 and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) holds 2. AITC is currently the fourth largest party in the parliament.

AITC, BJP, INC, and CPI are the major players in West Bengal. The biggest party in the state AITC, led by Mamatha Banerjee had recently announced the candidates’ list of AITC for the 2019 Election. The list comprised of 41% women among which are Bengali Actresses Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan. BJP, led by Dilip Ghosh and INC, led by Somen Mitra also announced their list of candidates for the 42 seats. The opinion polls led by various media organizations have speculated that AITC would once again gain a majority. Between NDA and UPA, the polls showed an increase in the number of seats, while keeping NDA ahead of INC.

Out of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal, 10 are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 2 for Scheduled Tribes. Bengal has a total population close to 7 crores in which 3.5 crores are male, 3.3 crores are female and more than 1400 are of the third gender.

The first phase elections in West Bengal had happened on April 11th in Coochbehar and Alipurduars. The state observed rather peaceful elections despite some incidents like breaking of EVM Machines. 69.9 percent voter turnout was observed in the state till late afternoon.

The second phase elections that took place on 18th of April 2019 in Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, and Raigunj, witnessed some violence in them. A minor incident in which the Police fired on Stone-pelters took place in Bengal, but the overall polling was deemed as peaceful by the EC. The overall polling percentage in the second phase elections was 75.27% in West Bengal.

The third phase elections were scheduled to happen on 23rd of April in Balurghat, Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur, and Murshidabad. Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, and Birbhum will have elections in the fourth phase on 29th April. The fifth phase will be on the 6th of May in Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, and Arambag.

The 6th phase Elections in West Bengal are scheduled on 12th of May in Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, and Bishnupur. The seventh and final phase elections are scheduled on 19th May in Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, and Kolkata Uttar.

Watch all the updates on the upcoming West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections on YuppTV from all over the world. YuppTV, a South Asian Content provider offers most of Hindi News Channels for free to watch online. One can download the YuppTV App from anywhere in the world to start watching West Bengal Election News online on Smartphones, Smart Televisions, Laptops, and other internet-enabled devices.

Leave a Reply

Next Post

What Special in Cricket World Cup 2019

Cricket World Cup Championship: In world cup championship, the matches are played between the all the teams of the world. In simple words, World Cup is the International Championship of One Day International cricket (ODI’s). World Cup Championship takes place once in every 4 years. The last world cup was […]
Cricket World Cup 2019

Subscribe US Now